The Core of Minimalism

Every time I move, which comes around more frequently than I like, I get overwhelmed by the amount of stuff we have. Subconsciously, I think I blame my husband. “He has so much stuff!” “Why doesn’t he go through his stuff?” and so on. However, I can’t force him down the path about minimalism. Honestly, he doesn’t really have that much stuff. I just like to think he does because most of it sits in the same boxes and totes from one move to the next. I reach a point where I just don’t want to go through any more of my stuff and start to concentrate on other things in our home, namely: his stuff.

I will admit, my husband does desire a simple, minimalist life. He just goes about it at his own pace and in his own unique way. When we do move, I will ask him to go through a box or two at a time, and he does it in a good-natured way. He doesn’t want to get rid of much because as we move, our needs change. I think he wants to wait on purging a lot of his electronic stuff until we move into our first house.

Since I do the organizing and the decorating in our home, I tend to want to display and use my things while some of my husband’s awesome things stay packed away in boxes.For example, my husband is a talented musician. Yet, his instruments usually end up shoved in a spare closet somewhere (although, this has become somewhat of a necessity since our son now gets into everything). This means my husband spends much less of his spare time playing his instruments, even though I want him to play music for our son.

Part of minimalism is to get rid of the things I don’t need so I can make room for the things my family uses. This means limiting the books I buy to ones I intend to read multiple times throughout my life and checking out books I only intend to read once or twice from the library. Minimalism to me also means limiting the number of knick knacks I have so I have room to display my husband’s records and the games we play with friends. It also means limiting the toys I buy for my son so he doesn’t become overwhelmed by his choices and refuse to play at all. Overall, minimalism to me means limiting the stuff I buy so we have room and money to create experiences with our family and friends.

What does minimalism mean to you?

Categories: Ponderings, Simple Living | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Core of Minimalism

  1. For me it is removing all things from my life that I do not use or love. It means buying nothing other than basic necessities so I can rid myself of all debt and pay off my mortgage. This ultimately will place me in a position where I can reduce the amount of hours that I work and do things that I really love to do.

  2. I agree with you. This post focuses on some of the aspects of minimalism I had missed up to this point in my journey. Still learning!

  3. Reblogged this on marshallsreporterscorner and commented:

    Some musings on minimalism

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

living life in the city

and so far its been a blast

Kaleb's Thoughts

Philosophy, Christianity, Linux, Computing, and more

Pancakes & French Fries

books, family, easygoing simplicity

