Simple Living: 100 Things Challenge

This week, my husband and I made the decision to move into an apartment with about 550 square feet of space. With medical bills and school loans to pay, we can only afford the tiny 1 bedroom apartment, but we have several positive things to say about the location. However, the small space will definitely challenge us, especially once the baby arrives. We decided to see this as an opportunity to challenge ourselves to live a more minimalistic lifestyle over the next year. I came up with our first task on Wednesday, which I will call the “100 Things Challenge.”

Some of my readers have probably heard of Dave Bruno. A few years back, he decided to challenge himself to live for a year with only 100 personal items in the pursuit of simple living. For more information about his challenge, watch this Youtube video. While my husband and I don’t feel quite up to the challenge of living with only 100 personal items, we have come up with our own challenge: get rid of 100 items by May 1st. By get rid of, I mean sell, donate, give away, recycle, or throw away (as a last resort) items as we pack up and move into our new place.

I happily report, I sold a chair to one of my housemates this morning. Our first item: gone 🙂

Categories: Simple Living | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Simple Living: 100 Things Challenge

  1. Reblogged this on marshallsreporterscorner and commented:

    I’m going to post several updates from the past year or so from my other blog.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

living life in the city

and so far its been a blast

Kaleb's Thoughts

Philosophy, Christianity, Linux, Computing, and more

Pancakes & French Fries

books, family, easygoing simplicity

