Dairy-Free Corn Chowder

During the eighth grade, I had several health issues pop up. I suffered from anxiety attacks over minor things, had a doctor diagnose me with IBS (irritable bowel syndrome), and discovered some food allergies. Among these food allergies, I became sensitive to milk. I have become more intolerant to lactose over the years and learned to adapt recipes to accommodate this dietary restriction.

Last year, I stumbled across this recipe from Adventures of a DIY Mom for corn chowder. I tweaked it a little to fit my own cooking style and lactose intolerance. Try out my dairy-free version:

Corn Chowder
2 c. water
2 c. chopped potatoes
1/2 c. finely shredded carrots*
1 clove minced garlic or 1 tsp garlic powder
1 1/2 t. salt
1/4 t. pepper

(*Hubby and I don’t really care for cooked carrots, but we’ll eat them in soup if they are shredded.)

Cook until tender, then add:

1/4 c. flour**
2 c. milk substitute (I use unsweetened almond milk)
1 can corn

**I like to sift my flour over the pot while slowly stirring to prevent my flour from clumping. When the soup has thickened up nicely, I will set aside half the soup. I then melt a cup of cheddar cheese into the rest of the soup for my hubby.

Enjoy this delicious soup during these cold winter days!

Categories: Food | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

living life in the city

and so far its been a blast

Kaleb's Thoughts

Philosophy, Christianity, Linux, Computing, and more

Pancakes & French Fries

books, family, easygoing simplicity

